Natasha McNeely's Author Blog

Never stop dreaming, 'cause the day you stop dreaming, is the day you stop living.

Friday Fortune #8 – How do you choose what to read next?

12 Comments

Friday Fortune #8

Welcome to the eighth edition of Friday Fortune!

What is Friday Fortune? On Wednesdays and Sundays, my posts are generally serious and focus on specific aspects of writing or even life in general. Fridays are here to mix it up a bit. On Fridays, you’ll be surprised with giveaways, free snippets, general questions, and so much more! If you have any suggestions for questions I could ask or things I could do; let me know so we can make this interactive!

This week, I have a question for all of you, that a friend of mine brought up the other day.

How do you choose what to read next?

An unopened fortune cookie

If only we could open one and have the title of our next read pop out. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

All readers know the dilemma. You just finished a great book and are glowing from the joy of it all, until that amazing sensation fades and leaves a hollow area within you. That’s when you realize, it’s time to move on to another book.

But, any self-respecting reader generally has more books stored away on their shelves or in their e-readers than they can read in one go. Perhaps alphabetized by author names, or book titles. On the other hand, maybe you have them organized by genre – perhaps even both. But that generally doesn’t help an avid reader select which pages to devour next.

You just read book XYZ in a series? The logical choice would be to start-up the next book, but do you want to speed through the series, or savour it by not reading it all in one go, and instead reading other books between those in the series?

Selecting books in a challenge. Figuring out what to read next always seems to be an impossible task. I know that, for me, books by my favorite authors tend to get read before other books – regardless of what order I bought them in. But for choosing books in general… I’m not sure I have a set way I go about selecting my next read.

What about you?

Do you have a strategy when it comes to choosing your next book? Share in the comments!

Tune in next week for whatever I have up my sleeve for you in edition nine of Friday Fortune.

Advertisements

Author: Natasha McNeely

I'm a writer, a reader, a gamer and a dreamer. I love losing myself to thought and considering possibilities. That is how I create my stories and weave the erratic tales into readable ones.

12 thoughts on “Friday Fortune #8 – How do you choose what to read next?

  1. I buy a lot of books, so this is an ever big dilemma for me. The libraries in my country (Denmark) often have sales containing all the books that no one has read for the past 3 years, and they either cost $0.90 each or you get to fill up a whole bag for $8.50.
    Those are not books I really look at when I buy them, so they get to sit on the shelf for ages, because I buy other books, series, in between that I’ve wanted for some time, that I found interesting. So if I’m completely out of ideas I’ll grab a random library book.
    But I usually have about 2 or 3 books already waiting for me up there on the shelf!

    • That sounds like a fairly decent plan. I’m more inclined to read something I was looking forward to, or am interested in, than a random book I don’t really know much about. At least there’s always something to read!

      • Precisely! That’s why I’ve always a couple of good books I’m looking forward to read, on the shelf, and then a lot of old, random ones that are they so I always have something.
        I often take them on holidays, because they won’t sadden me as much to loose, haha!

      • Exactly! It gives you a bit of diversity and you have a point; losing the random books while on holiday isn’t quite as bad as losing the books you love!

  2. I’m not very organized in my decisionmaking process. If the book was great and nothing can possibly follow it, I’ll usually re-read something. Otherwise, it’s whatever I happen upon next.

  3. My ‘to read’ books that I have actual physical copies of started to grow at a faster and faster pace. Because I kept giving newer books reading priority, the pile of books I’d had lying around for a while got higher still, so eventually I decided to compile a list factoring in date of purchase, fiction or non fiction (I like to switch it up) and whether they were part of a series or not. I’m trying very hard to stick to the list, but it isn’t always easy! Especially if you read positive reviews about books considerably far down the list..

    • You made a list? Oh, wow. Now that’s dedication! The closest thing I have to a list is my to-read shelf on Goodreads. It sounds like a pretty solid plan, but like you mentioned, it’s difficult when you hear good things about other books!

      • I’m a bit of a neurotic list maker at any rate. I can’t see the Goodreads thing like any kind of helpful list, since mine contains far too many books I don’t actually own.

      • Yeah, good point. I generally don’t make many lists and my goodreads to-read shelf is primarily used to keep an eye on things I may be interested in – and books I actually own.

  4. For me it’s a very random decision. Books that I’ve received from authors/publishers get some priority, because I feel guilty if I’m reading other books when I’ve promised to review something. Other than that, I keep a decent selection of books on hand and go with whatever I’m in the mood for.

Let me know what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s